Texas Society of Anesthesiologists
TSA 2017 Annual Meeting

2017 Distinguished Service Award:

Daneshvari R. Solanki, M.D.

Daneshvari R. Solanki, M.D.

Saturday, September 9, 9:30–10:00 a.m.

Dr. Daneshvari R. Solanki graduated from Baroda Medical College in India. She completed her training in anesthesia at Sayajirao General Hospital and was awarded her medical degree in anesthesia. Soon after getting married, she and her husband moved to England where she started her residency training in anesthesia at Northwick Park Hospital in London. She completed her residency and after passing her examination received her diploma and became a Fellow of the Royal College of Anaesthetists (FRCA). She and her husband then moved to the United States. She completed one year of residency before being able to take her licensing examination. Dr. Solanki did her fourth year of residency in anesthesiology at the University of Wisconsin in Madison. They then moved to Texas and she started her career as an assistant professor in anesthesiology at the University of Texas Medical Branch (UTMB) in Galveston with Dr. James F. Arens, Chair of the Department of Anesthesiology. Dr. Arens later left and handed the reins over to Dr. Donald S. Prough, and Dr. Solanki is happy to say that she also enjoyed serving in that flourishing department.

Dr. Solanki enjoys teaching; and over the years, she gradually climbed the ladder to become a tenured professor in anesthesiology at UTMB. Along the way, she was given some teaching awards by the anesthesiology residents and was rewarded with the title of Laura Bragg McDaniel Distinguished Professor of Anesthesiology. She has had a long, satisfying career spanning 39 years at UTMB.

The most rewarding things in her life have been taking care of patients in the operating room and teaching regional anesthesia and pain medicine. She was also honored by her department for training more than 500 residents and 50 pain fellows over the years.

When she came from England, the American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA) gave her reciprocal recognition for her FRCA as being equivalent to the ABA board certification. This rendered the board examination unnecessary at the time. Despite the ABA recognition in 2008, she was reminded that she was not board-certified and was hurt by this statement. So she undertook the challenge to accomplish it through the avenue of the Alternate Entry Path that was established by the ABA. She completed this challenge with the help of her Chairman Dr. Prough, her colleagues, and her residents. She is very thankful to all of them. She became board-certified in June of 2016. She has told us this was the most fulfilling thing she has ever done and felt her mission was accomplished.

She is very thankful to Dr. Charles R. Tanner for introducing her to the Texas Society of Anesthesiologists and teaching her why it was important to be active in state and national organizations. She has served the Society in the capacity of Director for District 5 from 2001 to 2016 and has enjoyed the experience. Dr. Solanki recently retired
on March 31st of 2017 to begin the next chapter in her life.

We wish her the very best!

  Choose From Among 37.5 Hours of Continuing Medical Education

   This CME activity meets the formal CME requirements for the State of Texas annual medical license renewal, including:

  • Thursday Legislative Program – 3.0 CME hours
  • Friday – Sunday Scientific Program – 16.25 CME hours
  • Workshops – 8.0 CME hours
  • Parallel Sessions – 10.25 CME hours


   Included in the above hours:

   Ethics Sessions – 5.25 CME Hours

   MOCA® - 6.25 MOCA® Hours

   MOCA 2.0® - 11.5 MOCA 2.0® Patient Safety Hours

   Educational programs are jointly sponsored by Texas Medical Association and Texas Society of Anesthesiologists.


Brochure TOC -> Next ->